Savings

I’ve been working with the Writing faculty here at MPOW to introduce students to Zotero, which is a bibliographic manager. It’s an add-on to Firefox and will save web pages, PDFs, articles, etc. for retrieval later, and will allow the user to create a bibliography (in the proper format) in a snap. The bibliography needs to be tweaked here and there, but most of it is done. Oh, to have had something like this when I was in grad school!

Meanwhile, I’ve poked around in the Facebook Memories section, and found a few that I thought I’d like to revisit. The pages where whatever I thought I had ‘saved’ no longer existed; the links had been changed, or removed, or had otherwise disappeared in the the ether. I know that DH will occasionally use Facebook to save a recipe he’s interested in trying, and I have friends that will say they’re posting to ‘save’ the page.

In comparing the two, I’m realizing that saving to a bibliographic manager is a better choice than saving something on your Facebook feed. It doesn’t help if the link is lost, but while nothing on the Internet is truly gone, it doesn’t mean it can’t be lost. (Rather like that earring or sock or key you’re missing. It’s lost, but not irretrievable.)

If you haven’t tried one of these bibliographic managers, I would encourage you to give it a try.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous, Techie stuff

Leave a Reply

