Connecting

We have a Talbots store here in the building  where I work. (Yes, the university is on the top two floors of a shopping mall. Weird, but it works.)

I don’t tend to shop there very often, but yesterday I felt the urge. I went in, bought a cute skirt at a substantial discount, and went on my merry way.

This morning I opened an email from Talbots:

It was so nice to see you the other day here at our Rochester store! We look forward to seeing you again soon… and sharing our exclusive e-mail offers.

Thank you again for being a Talbots customer.

What a lovely message!  How could we use this in libraries, especially for those patrons that don’t come in very often? What wonderful, positive reinforcement. I have one of their customer cards, so I’m assuming it tracks when I come in, and it no doubt registered that I hadn’t been in the store in quite a while.  Why couldn’t we do that with library cards?

Leave a comment

Filed under Customer Service, Libraries and Librarianship

Leave a Reply

