Keeping track

I’ve been reading blog posts this morning, trying to catch up after a break. Many of the library/ian blogs that I read have been noting how many books they read throughout the year.

I find this fascinating.

Frankly, I have no idea how many books I read last year. I know I read lots yesterday: I finished one book and read two others. Great way to spend the day. But for the year? No clue. Lots. Even more if you count the books begun but not finished, set aside for a number of reasons. They didn’t grab me. I wasn’t in the mood for that genre. Possibly both. I can’t bring myself to completely set them aside, so they pile up next to my side of the bed, reproaching me for not having finished them.

Reading, for me, is an escape. Relaxation. A trip to another time and place. An adventure. A romance.

The idea that I would keep a tally of what I read would somehow turn it into a competition, or an obligation…..which would take the fun out of the pastime.

So, dear reader, you’ll get no tally from me. Just a gentle nudge to grab a book and dive in.

In a similar vein, DH and I watched the movie, “The Jane Austin Book Club” this weekend. It was charming and has made me want to actually read Jane Austin. (I know, I know. A  librarian that hasn’t read Austin?  Scandalous. But there it is.)  Perhaps I’ll put that on my list for this year. Hopefully, they won’t end up in the pile next to the bed. But if they do?  That’s okay, too.  I’m not keeping track.

4 Comments

Filed under Libraries and Librarianship, Me and mine

4 responses to “Keeping track

  1. Ann WS

    Hey, I’m another librarian who has never read Jane Austen or seen the movies. LeAnne gave me Pride & Prejudice and the new PD James Austen mystery, so maybe this year….

  2. If you start a Jan Austen book, I can almost guarantee you will finish it – and want another. I have them all at home, and whenever I’m desparate for something to read, I just read one again.

  3. Ann

    Several friends and I have been using Good Reads. I keep the list of those things I’ve read, as well as getting good recommendations from others.Check it out.

  4. Carisa Sullivan

    I feel this way too. My love for reading was impaired by the sheer volume of assignments to be read during grad school. I felt like my grad program was its own crazy book club (as you mention- not fun to have to keep track of things and yes some of it did feel like an obligation). But my love for reading has come back fully intact. Right now I’m reading “Doc” by Mary Doria Russell and a visual treat for me has also been Annie Liebowitz’s newest photography book.

    – From another librarian who (gasp) has not read Austin

Leave a Reply

