Infuriating

Those of you who know me know that I’ve struggled with my weight all my life.  It’s been an incredibly frustrating problem, and so when I read articles like this, it makes me crazy.

Seriously??

“… typical daily meals used to include a 20-ounce steak and three potatoes washed down with a 12-pack of soda.”

The thing that makes me crazy is that this is how the media typically portrays overweight people, as eating ridiculously large meals.  So of course they’re overweight.  Which means that when they look at people like me, they think I’m putting away meals like that when in many cases, I eat less than they do.

Just a personal rant. Grrr.

3 Comments

Filed under Me and mine

3 responses to “Infuriating

  1. Our latest wellness program included a book with the cheery encouragement, “It’s time to throw out those Twinkies!” All I could think was lady, I don’t think I’ve had a Twinkie in the last 10 years. Ticked me off that the assumption is that since I’m not in the “right” BMI range (and don’t EVEN get me started on BMI!) that I’m lying on the couch every night diving into a vat full of twinkies.

    The inimitable Ragen Chastain over at Dances with Fat nails it when she says you can tell only two things by a person’s body size: 1) their size, and 2) your prejudices about body size.
    http://danceswithfat.wordpress.com/2011/10/22/things-you-can-tell-by-looking-at-us/

  2. Melanie

    This is a personal pet peeve of mine, too – I am apparently considered obese according to the BMI (some clock me in at morbidly obese), yet I work out at least 3 hours a week, eat fairly healthily (I love salads, and am not a fan of fried foods), and most of my food cravings are for salty, not sweet. Not to mention just the thought of drinking a 12-pack of soda makes me more than a little nauseous…..

Leave a Reply

