Rant

DBF sent me a link to a story this morning, wondering whether I had read it.  I hadn’t.  Here’s the link – go ahead and read it.  I’ll wait.

As I told DBF, shame on that librarian!  That’s not at all how things should be done – and if she were working at my library, we would be having a talk about appropriate behavior at the desk.

Patron confidentiality means not only that you don’t tell other people what someone is reading, but that you don’t do what this woman is doing.  I would occasionally comment on a book that I had read that someone was checking out, (“I read that – you’re going to love it!”) but never would I comment on the kinds of books the writer is talking about.

If this is going on in your library, you are betraying the trust of your patrons.

If this is going on in your library, you have patrons that are upset/freaked out/insulted and are never coming back.

If this is going on in your library, it must stop now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Customer Service, Libraries and Librarianship

Leave a Reply

