Endings and beginnings

It’s the end of the semester, and for some of our students, the end of their college journey. It’s bittersweet and something I am having trouble adjusting to in my switch from public to academic librarian: your patrons leave you.

Of course patrons would occasionally leave in the public library setting. It’s different here, though, in that it’s planned that your patrons will leave.  It’s the whole idea – we educate them, they graduate, and then go out into the world to the rest of their lives.

So I get to know these students – some of them pretty well.  I care about them. And a number of them will graduate in the next couple of days and I will probably not see them again.  It’s sad.  It’s the way it’s supposed to be, but I will miss them.

So….off with you.  Go have wonderful, fulfilling, productive lives.  I hope we’ve prepared you for what is to come, and I hope you look back on your experience here with fondness.  We’ll miss you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Academia, Libraries and Librarianship

Leave a Reply

