Too much to ask?

I ordered a spiffy new phone, and a delivery was attempted by FedEx this afternoon.  Since no one was home, they left a door tag that said that we could either wait to have it delivered Monday (when no one will be home….because we work, people….) or we could go to the FedEx center near our airport to pick it up.

They mention that it will be there after 5:00, so I decided I would ask DH if he would stop by on the way home from work. First, though, I wanted to make sure it was OK for him to pick it up, or if they needed me.

I decided I would give them a call to find out.

There is no phone number on the door tag, save the 800 number for FedEx. It’s one of those answering system from hell systems, with a robot posing as a person trying to understand your responses. (Shockingly, it doesn’t understand expletives. I think if you’re designing a system like that, it should not only understand expletives but should send you directly to a real person the first time they hear one.)

Unsuccessful in trying to get Robot Woman to understand me, I gave up on that tack, and tried to look it up on their website.  No phone number listed.  I called information.  THEY have no phone number listed.  (What the hell?)

I then decided to call one of the other local FedEx locations.  Surely they would have the phone number, right?  Not.

Who are these guys, that they don’t have a listed phone????

DH is heading there after work to pick up the package, armed with the door tag number.  They had better not give him any trouble because believe me, I’m in no mood.  They really do not want to deal with me right now.

So the big question is: why on earth would a business make itself completely unavailable to customers?

The parallel question for libraries is: is it impossible to find your phone number or other contact information?  Now, ‘fess up; I’ve been on a few library websites where there is no contact information.  I’d really like to know the director’s name, at the very least.

Please, oh please don’t make me go through one of those automated answering things to get to you.  I don’t know what department I want – and I shouldn’t have to work that hard, dammit.  Have a person answer the phone and help me.

Is that really too much to ask?

2 Comments

Filed under Customer Service, Me and mine

2 responses to “Too much to ask?

  1. Susan Mark

    “Shockingly, it doesn’t understand expletives. I think if you’re designing a system like that, it should not only understand expletives but should send you directly to a real person the first time they hear one.”

    AMEN! And that is one of the funniest dang things I’ve read in an awful long time! 🙂

  2. Lisa

    Try calling your local post office sometime.

    Can’t do it. You have to call the 800 number to get the hours of the local office. Take about 15 minutes to punch through all the required info.

    Hey – what if you have some other kind of question? You actually have to go the post office to ask. But be sure to call first to make sure they’re open.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

