Saving the World

A recent interview in the New Yorker featured author Marilyn Johnson, whose book “This Book is Overdue: How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All” is one I must pick up immediately. If nothing else, I must have it simply for the title.  The contents sound pretty interesting, too.  In it, Johnson talks about libraries and librarians and how we’re changing technology.

Q: How did you go about finding the many libraries and librarians you wrote about?

Librarians are the most organized, networked, literate people around, and they love to help. I asked all sorts of librarians to recommend colleagues who they felt were doing visionary work, and they flooded me with suggestions. I did not have trouble finding great librarians; I had trouble choosing among them all.

I think I love this woman.  If you’ll pardon me, I’m heading out to get the book.  And thank you, Marilyn, for your vote of confidence!

Leave a comment

Filed under Libraries and Librarianship, Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

