Putting the “no” in innovation

Forgive my curmudgeon this morning.  I just logged on to Yahoo (my page of choice for years now) and they’ve changed their layout.  New!  Improved!  More spiffy!

Now, I’m a relatively techie person.  I’m writing this post now through a Chrome browser.   I (obviously) blog.  I Facebook.  I’m using Meebo as an IM aggregator – which I highly recommend, by the way.  I Twitter.  Blah, blah, blah.

That being said, at some point I don’t want anything to change ANY MORE.  I’m used to the Yahoo page.  It felt like an old friend.  I knew where stuff was.  They’ve already changed the My Yahoo interface, and I got used to that.  But damn it, enough is enough.  I want my old page back.  It’s an old friend.

So all of this curmudgeon of mine got me to thinking about our tendency in the library world to dive into the new and spiffy.  Granted, much of this is worth diving into, and will increase patron access library communication and all kinds of good stuff.  But in a world (OK, you must read this like the late, great Don LaFontaine…but I digress.)  In a world where it seems like everything is changing at breakneck speed, sometimes it’s calming to come to the place that is static.  That doesn’t change much.  That’s an old friend.

What’s the punchline?  I’m not sure.  I do know that I love the old libraries, with that old book smell and the big, comfy chairs and the fireplaces.  They feel like old friends, too.  I also enjoy technology.  Let’s not throw the baby out with the bathwater, as my grandmother used to say.  Keep some of the old, the traditional, the comfortable.  With the world changing as quickly as it does, it’s nice to have a place to go to that still feels familiar.

Leave a comment

Filed under Libraries and Librarianship, Me and mine

Leave a Reply

