Minnesota Book Awards Announced

The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library has announced the results of the 21st annual Minnesota Book Awards. A panel of judges selected winners in eight categories, and over 2000 online voters from across Minnesota selected the winner of the Readers’ Choice Award. The awards were presented on the evening of April 25, 2009, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in St. Paul.

I was  on the panel that selected The Latehomecomer by Kao Kalia Yang as the winner in the Memoir and Creative Non-Fiction category. It’s a wonderful memoir about the Hmong people and her family’s journey to Minnesota.  I highly recommend the book especially if you, like me, are a little fuzzy on the history of the Hmong people.

 Here’s the complete list of the winners:

Children’s Literature: The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson

General Non-fiction: The Compassionate Carnivore by Catherine Friend

Genre Fiction: Stalking Susan by Julie Kramer

Memoir & Creative Non-fiction: The Latehomecomer by Kao Kalia Yang

Minnesota: Hard Work and a Good Deal by Barbara W. Sommer

Novel & Short Story: The Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich

Poetry: National Monuments by Heid E. Erdrich

Young Adult Literature: Twelve Long Months by Brian Malloy

The Latehomecomer also won the Readers’ Choice Award, which is a wonderful tribute.

Congratulations to all of the winners!


1 Comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

One response to “Minnesota Book Awards Announced

  1. MultitypeLibrarian

    I’m almost through The Late Homecomer. It’s wonderful!!!!! Good selection job.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s