Quickie

I’m back in Minnesota, after a delightful if quick trip to ALA. The OCLC symposium went rather well and it was an honor to be on the dais with Susan, David, and Michael.

It was great to meet up with the WebJunction folks at their reception, which is getting to be the party in town.  (If you haven’t been, you’ve been missing a great time and some amazing food.)  I’m still getting the boa feathers out of my clothes and luggage.  It was an added treat to have dinner with Jennifer Peterson of WebJunction, who has become a friend through our many encounters.  I wish we loved closer!

Jen and me

As if that wasn’t enough of a treat, I went to dinner with David and the OCLC folks to a beautiful restaurant with an amazing view of the city.  The food was delicious and the company was entertaining.

One interesting tidbit about this very swanky restaurant.  Their signature side dish is cream corn, served family style.  Cream corn. Seriously?  The stuff from my Midwestern childhood?  We each had an obligatory spoonful, if only to remind ourselves that we hate cream corn.  One of the dishes was left untouched, leading one of the group to wonder how much of the stuff goes uneaten.

I hope all of you that remain in Anaheim have a wonderful conference!

3 Comments

Filed under Libraries and Librarianship, Me and mine

3 responses to “Quickie

  1. Thanks Mary Beth. We had a great time, too! And yeah, I think this meal was one of the best I had in Anaheim…creamed corn and all. But really the view (and the bunny sighting) was the best!

  2. jenpeter

    You and the rest did a fantastic job at the Symposium. I can’t wait to share all the archives from sessions…so much to catch up on.

    And I wish we “loved” closer too 😉

  3. Oops! Gotta love those typing skills. : )

Leave a Reply

