No Joy on the Tundra

Well, it finally happened. Brett Favre has announced his retirement.

The Internet is abuzz with the news, as are friends and coworkers. Those who aren’t Packer fans are checking to see how DH and I are handling the news. Those who are Packer fans are sharing the sadness.

I’m listening to Charlie’s show in Milwaukee, and he’s getting phone calls and emails from people all over the world who are saddened by the news. I’m actually finding myself getting a bit teary-eyed.

There is something about Favre. He’s an amazing athlete, of course. But there’s something more. He seems like a nice guy. He seems like the kind of guy you could have over for a beer.

There are games we’ll never forget because of this one man. The amazing game he played after his father died makes me tear up just thinking about it. I loved watching him play, running around like a teenager, grinning ear-to-ear. Picking Driver up and throwing him over his shoulder. Joking with the opposing linemen as they tried to sack him. Watching him was just fun.

In some respects, I feel sorry for Aaron Rodgers. What an act to have to follow….

Thanks for all the fun, Brett. We’ll miss you.

1 Comment

Filed under Me and mine

One response to “No Joy on the Tundra

  1. Rachel

    *sigh* I’d heard about this myself today. Very sad to hear it, but I can see why he’d decide to go out when he’s on top.

Leave a Reply

