From Lefse to Washington

I’m here, along with many, many librarians.  Unfortunately, you can spot us fairly easily…perhaps we should draft the “What Not to Wear” people for help.

Wednesday was a whirlwind trip, from Minneapolis to Washington.  Once safely past security (memo to self: buy stock in ZipLoc) I grabbed a quick lunch that is probably only available in Minnesota: a lefsedilla.  That’s a quesadilla, but instead of using a tortilla, they use lefse.   Pretty good, actually.

Yesterday was spent preparing the room for the WebJunction Rural Sustainability Forum.  We decorated the room’s tables with state flags, which was a bit of a challenge as most of us only know one or two state flags by sight.  Luckily, the flag manufacturers had placed a handy sticker identifying the state on the flag.  There was one mystery flag that was stickerless and had no other identifying hints (like the name of the state, which many states thoughtfully print right on the flag.)  Turns out, the flag’s was Georgia’s – and not a peach in sight.

Today will be the all-day session, followed by a WebJunction reception, followed by the premiere of “The Hollywood Librarian”……if I last that long.  Bed just might call before the movie, but we’ll see.

I’ll be blogging during the day, so stay tuned!

2 Comments

Filed under ALA2007, Blogging

2 responses to “From Lefse to Washington

  1. Linda

    Thanks for the updates from ALA! Wish I was there! Since I can’t be, this is the next best thing!

  2. Terrific blogging, MB! I really enjoyed your energy and humor at the Rural Forum, and as I mentioned to you at one point: you have a fantastic voice!

    I’m a former Minnesotan, and I gotta say that even though I’ve never heard of a lefsedilla, it certainly doesn’t surprise me they exist. What next? Add a stick to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

