ALA-bound

I’m heading to Washington on Wednesday for ALA.  I’m a newbie to that particular conference, never having had the budget at my small, rural library to justify my attendance.

I’m heading out there thanks in large part to the folks at WebJunction; I’m working with the Rural Library Sustainability  Forum, and I’ll be helping at the day-long pre-conference event on Friday.

I’ve also signed on to be one of the PLA bloggers, so tune in to the PLA blog, too.

At the moment, I’m compiling the vast quantities of paper available through ALA to guide folks through the conference.  Some of the stuff is more helpful than others.  The Itinerary Planner is swell.  The hotel/bus/metro map is not so much.  (An overlap would be terrific, for those of us who aren’t as familiar with Washington and where the stops might be in relation to the hotels….or anything else, for that matter.)

At any rate, stay tuned for tales from the road to ALA.

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging

5 responses to “ALA-bound

  1. Hi Beth!

    I first went to DC last October, and had much the same trouble you’re reporting, regarding the Metro and map layout. I’ve had some luck using Google Maps (since it’s good about reporting hotel and site-seeing locations), in conjunction with these two sites:
    http://www.hopstop.com/?city=washington
    http://www.wmata.com/maps/maps.cfm?fromMenu=MapsAndStations.0

    It sure would be nice to find a mashup of these. If I wasn’t so involved with, yaknow, work, I’d brave it myself. 🙂

    Let me know if you need a lunch or dinner buddy! I’ll be there Thursday through Monday evening.

  2. Er–I deleted part of your name by accident; my bad, Mary Beth!
    😉

    *Starr (who ought to be packing and/or working but is instead worrying about both)

  3. Hi Starr,

    Thanks for the links! Maybe we’ll bump into each other and can grab some dinner – I’ll be there Wednesday through Monday morning. (I’ll miss Garrison myself, but since St. Paul is just up the road apiece, I figure I can catch him easily enough at home…)

    Mary Beth (who should also be packing, but is obsessing over the pack list.)

  4. I found another, even better metro resource, and wanted to share:
    http://www.stationmasters.com/System_Map/system_map.html

    If you click on a particular station, you can see a neighborhood street map of the area surrounding that station. It’s been invaluable to me, as my hotel’s located off of Dupont Circle, and taking the wrong exit could have lead me blocks in the wrong direction!!

    I think I’m going to also print the map for the Convention Center Station area, so I can scout the area for quick site-seeing opportunities between sessions.

  5. Teresa Hartman

    Have a wonderful time at ALA! If you think of it, please mention our video again https://impromptu.wordpress.com/2006/08/04/hamster-help/, which may be just what librarians are looking for to support this year’s Get A Clue Summer Reading Program. Take care, and keep up the great work.

    Teresa Hartman, MLS
    McGoogan Library of Medicine
    Omaha, NE

Leave a Reply

