In Memoriam: Howard Lee Kane

Howard Lee Kane, age 40.Quilt

Husband and father.

Place killed: World Trade Center. Resident of Hazlet, N.J. (USA).

Having struggled with Crohn’s disease, an intestinal illness, for most of his life, Howard Lee Kane had little patience for anyone in a bad mood. His tonic was laughter, and whether it was a new joke he would e-mail to friends or a funny story about that day at the office, he had the gift to make people smile.

Mr. Kane, 40, was the comptroller at Windows on the World, a job he loved, said his wife, Lori, because it combined his passion for cooking with a view he called “halfway to heaven.” Mr. Kane, who lived in Hazlet, N.J., put in long days that began at 4:30 a.m. He commuted more than an hour each way. But his only complaint about work, his wife said, was that he lacked the words to describe the sunsets and view.

He had little time during the week to cook or chat with the couple’s 11-year-old son, Jason, so Sunday mornings became a father-son-only time for waffles and fishing down at the dock. “They were best friends,” said Mrs. Kane. (NYT, 2001.)

As I was doing research on Howard, I did a Google search on his name. There were 16 pages of references. It occurred to me that this was not the way I’d want to have my name remembered, as one of a list of victims of a horrible attack.

Howard wasn’t given a choice in the matter.

A Legacy guest book for Howard has six pages of comments for the family. Some were folks who knew him in high school. Some were folks who knew him through business. Some were folks who didn’t know him at all, but wanted to express their condolences to his family. They speak to a man who touched others and truly left a legacy.

It’s only now, almost 2 years later, that I learned of Howie’s death. What a sad event for his family and those who knew him. I don’t know if everyone who is described by grieving friends and relatives as “full of life”, “friendly” and “giving” really is but I can attest to this being true of Howie as far back as I can remember. And that’s quite a way back. From my first memory of him struggling to make a good cover for his book report on the Mets in 5th grade to him helping throw Coach Williams in the pool at the seniors only wrestling team party at DMHS. He was one of my good friends through that entire period. A great kid that I’m sure matured into a great man. Michael Sexter (San Jose, CA )

To the Kanes and friends of Howie:

This is one of the hardest things I have done had to do in a long time. Howie and I shared an office, side by side, for 3 years during the early 80’s at Marine Transport Lines. It was early in our Accounting careers and have many memories. We learned alot about life in that time period. We were shocked together when news came over our radio about the shuttle disaster. We fished off the Jersey coast. We went to lunch practically everyday and despite Howie’s illness, he still ate whatever he wanted!! He was truly a friend and he also attended my wedding a few years later. I was not even aware that he was in the towers when they came down. I found out when they published the list on the one year anniversary. I just knew it was him when I read the name. My heart just sank. It is a great loss I feel, not just for me but for all who knew Howie and all who would have got to know him. He truly takes life by the horns and does not accept defeat. With Howie, each day is a new life and he lived it to the fullest, even if it meant to physically hurt. I am sure that Howie did all he could before the collapse, none of it geared towards himself. That was just Howie. I wish his family all the best and will always remember my office and lunch partner for what he was to me, a truly great guy who will watch over us. Just remember, Howie will live through us all. I am extremely proud of him. Jason, you have a great father!! Thomas Healy (Harrisburg, PA )

I would see Howie, or more commonly referred to as “Nugget’s Daddy” by my youngest daughter, almost every night in the warmer weather. He was so kind and patient with the children, always stopping with his dog, Nugget, and allowing the children to sit and let Nugget jump in their lap. Although I only knew Howie to say” hello”,I will miss seeing him on Kildare Drive.
Lori, always know I am here if you or Jason ever need anything. Lisa lisa madden (hazlet, NJ )

Blessings on the family and friends of Howard Lee Kane.

To see the whole list of 3,173 3,311 bloggers commemorating the 2,996 9/11 victims, visit D.Challener Roe’s site. Thank you, Dale, for coordinating this effort.

Acknowledgements:
Profile published in THE NEW YORK TIMES on November 20, 2001.
United in Memory has created quilt blocks to commemorate each victim.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “In Memoriam: Howard Lee Kane

  1. The Mustari Family

    Howie was our next door neighbor and even though we didn’t get to see him too often, we did get to say hello when he was tending to his property or while he passed our house while walking his cute little dog “nugget”. He was a very nice guy. Howie was not the only person we knew who perished during that horrible event, we knew several others and continue to pray for them. Our hearts go out to the families….our hearts go out to Lori and Jason. God Bless.

  2. Pingback: In Memoriam « Impromptu Librarian

  3. Pingback: Impromptu Librarian

Leave a Reply

