Yes, we have no bananas.

The Movers and Shakers, Emerging Leaders, and Rock Star Librarian movements make me feel like I’m back in high school, longing to be one of the cool kids but never quite getting there.  I had my moments, but was never part of the “In” crowd.

I’m annoyed with myself for feeling left out, not quite good enough…but there it is. And I have a feeling I’m not the only one feeling this way. I know the awards and programs aren’t intended to make the rest of us feel bad, and are to recognize those librarians who have something significant to contribute.  It has, however, had the unfortunate side-effect of marginalizing those who aren’t the Chosen Ones.

Given all this, I was delighted to read Karen Schneider’s take on the issue.  Thanks, Karen.  We needed that.

1 Comment

Filed under Libraries and Librarianship, Me and mine

One response to “Yes, we have no bananas.

  1. You’re welcome. And you are all that and a bag of chips!

Leave a Reply

