Translation

There’s an interesting post on Tame the Web today about the use of Google Translate to chat with patrons from Italy.  Great idea!

I hadn’t realized that Google had this service, though I’ve stumbled across the function.  I’m using Google Chrome as my web browser almost exclusively, and the translation tool automatically pops up as a toolbar if you come across a page or search in a language other than English. (Or whatever you’ve chosen as your primary language, I presume.)

Playing around a bit, it looks like the kind of tool that will be very handy.  It’s even got a link to listen to the correct pronunciation. Translate has also gotten me thinking about how we learn and what we’re requiring in academia.  For instance, I’m interested in history (it’s my undergrad degree) and have been pondering the pursuit of further education and study in history.  One of the requirements is at least reading knowledge of another language.  It’s occurring to me that, with a tool like this, that requirement isn’t quite as necessary.

Granted, a person should be able to translate better than a computer…..but then again, maybe not.

In the meantime, this is a terrific tool to use with visitors from other countries, new immigrants, and folks who are simply interested in learning another language.

Essayez-le! Aller s’amuser!

1 Comment

Filed under Customer Service, Libraries and Librarianship

One response to “Translation

  1. Thanks for reading my post at TTW! I am glad you got something out of it.
    I have found that the more and more I use Translate and look at the little details of what I have translated I am able to pick up some key phrases and grammar, which all in all is helping me learn a little bit at a time. It is so nice!

    …on another note
    ” I’m using Google Chrome as my web browser almost exclusively, and the translation tool automatically pops up as a toolbar if you come across a page or search in a language other than English.”

    Yes yes yes! Chrome is amazing for this kind of thing. There’s so many extensions that do the simplest little task that I can’t imagine my life without them anymore.

Leave a Reply

