Second Life, Ad Nauseum

I’ve been hearing, ad nauseum, about Second Life. Everyone and their brother is involved: flying about, chatting with folks, even answering reference questions at the library. I really didn’t get the appeal, but decided I should give it a try on general principles.

So I jumped in. Made an avatar who looks like I’d like to, dressed her, and wandered around.

This is not at all a user-friendly program, in my opinion. I’m fairly computer-savvy, and it took a few tries to figure out how to move, access options for appearance, go to the place I want to go.

At this point, I’m sitting in a chair in the library, reading a book. And I think I’m going to stay there.

Why? I’m sick.

You see, I’m one of those people who gets motion sick very, very easily. I just spent 30 minutes, tops, wandering around Second Life, and I’m incredibly nauseated. I can’t go the the IMAX theater for the same reason. I spent a few minutes watching DSD play Sonic the Hedgehog one day and had to turn away, much to her amusement. Swooping camera moves in movies make me turn away and ask DH to tell me when it’s over.

So all this movement in Second Life literally makes me sick.

As a result, I doubt I’m going to be one of those who waxes rhapsodic about Second Life. This brings up an interesting question, though: how many others are there, like me, who really can’t hang out in this environment? I certainly can’t be the only one with this issue. So if businesses are setting up and people are having meetings and holding classes in this environment, are we leaving out a significant part of the population who simply can’t be there?

2 Comments

Filed under Libraries and Librarianship, Me and mine, Techie stuff

2 responses to “Second Life, Ad Nauseum

  1. Maggie

    I just tried second life and felt really sick, too.. It’s community wasn’t inviting, it was hard to get into and there just didn’t seem to be that much to do.. imvu.com is much more fun and I haven’t had a motion sickness issue.

  2. Pingback: Just because we can… | Impromptu Librarian

Leave a Reply

